Can I request a halal meal? | Nagomi Visit Help Center

Can I request a halal meal?

Nagomi Visit is a muslim friendly community with some experienced hosts able to prepare a halal friendly Japanese meal. At the same time, keep in mind that since most hosts are not muslim themselves, unlike a restaurant kitchen it will most likely not be halal certified.

However, if you would still like to participate knowing this, past muslim participants have expressed that requesting a vegetarian or seafood meal and also being specific about how flexible you are about alcohol and other details is recommended.

For instance, the host may do their best to avoid alcohol in all dishes but depending on the area they live in, they might not have easy access to soy sauce without alcohol so they will do the next best thing according to how flexible you may be. The host may not drink alcohol or include it in the dishes while you are there out of respect but they might still have the bottle placed in the same kitchen where they will be cooking your meal. On the same note, even though our host may be able to prepare food using halal meat they may have specially ordered for your Nagomi Visit, they may have to prepare the dishes in the same kitchen where the host usually prepares their non-halal foods.

If you have any specific concerns not mentioned here, feel free to contact us anytime and hopefully we will be able to be of assistance.